California State with its diverse environment and 40 million people yearly passes hundreds of new laws. While not all apply to everyone, here are several worth-knowing, as they might affect you, the place where you live and/or work.
Starting Jan. 1, all ammunition purchases in California must be made in person through a vendor licensed by the Department of Justice. The law also applies to any transfers of ammunition. Gun owners will also be prohibited from importing ammunition from outside the state without it going through a licensed vendor in California first.
‘Ban The Box’ Criminal History On Applications
Here’s another new law for employers. Beginning Jan. 1, employers will be banned from considering one’s criminal history until employment is offered. Assembly Bill 1008 authored by Assemblyman Kevin McCarty.
Buckle Up Bus Passengers
If you take a commercial bus like a Greyhound, you’ll have to buckle up starting July 2018. Senate Bill 20 by state Sen. Jerry Hill, D-San Mateo, requires passengers and drivers to wear seatbelts. Anyone who violates this law will be forced to pay a $20 fine. If you violate the law more than once, you’ll pay $50.
New Parental Leave Mandates for Small Employers
On January 1, 2018, employers with 20+ employees must provide child bonding leave under the New Parent Leave Act. Under the California Family Rights Act (the “CFRA”), companies with 50 or more employees must provide eligible employees with up to 12 weeks of unpaid, job-protected leave during a 12-month period:
- To care for a parent, a spouse, or a child with a serious health condition;
- Because an employee’s own serious health condition prevents the employee from performing the functions of his or her job; and/or
- For the purpose of bonding with their child within one year of the child’s birth or placement of the child with the employee through adoption or foster care, i.e., “child bonding leave.”
To be eligible for leave under CFRA, an employee must have 12 months of service with a covered employer, at least 1,250 hours of service with the employer during the 12-month period preceding their leave, and be employed at a location where the employer has at least 50 employees within a 75-mile radius.
Prohibition on Salary History Inquiries and a New Duty to Disclose “Pay Scales”
Effective January 1, 2018, employers are barred from seeking or inquiring into a job applicant’s salary history, compensation, and benefits. Further, employers must now disclose pay scales for a position upon request from an applicant. This also means employers cannot use one’s salary history to determine the salary they will offer to a potential employee. Supporters of the bill hope it will close the gender pay gap.
If you’d like more information on the San Fernando Valley or Los Angeles, or to have help looking for your next home, please feel free to reach out! I’m happy to help, no obligation.